Ayurveda » Treatment


According to ayurveda a normal body will be have an equilibrium between three doshas. (between doshas and the body, mind and soul). If there is any disequilibrium, the Ayurveda system considers it to be a state of disease, even though the disease may not have manifested outwardly. So the aim of Ayurvedic system of medicines is to restore the equilibrium if there is disequilibrium. This is accomplished by three main types of therapies. They are
  • Aushada (Medicines)
  • Anna (Nutrition)
  • and
  • Vihara
  • (Environment).
Each of these three types of therapies of Ayurveda can be administrated in six different ways namely
  1. Hetu Viparita
  2. Vyadhi Viparita
  3. Hetu-Vyadhi Viparita
  4. Hetu Viparitarthakari
  5. Vyadhi Viparitakari
  6. Hetu Vyadhi Viparitakari

In Hetu Viparitarthakari, a medicine is administrated in small but potent dose, which in healthy persons, would produce the symptoms of the very diseases for the cure of which it is prescribed. Alternatively, that type of drug can be administrated which induces the opposite tendency. You may think that it is quoted from Hahneman or Hippocrates. But it is mentioned in Ayurveda before the days of Hippocrates. Ayurveda does not confine itself to administrating medicines only. It also recommends various other therapies. The main sections of ayurveda are

(i) Kayachikitsa (Internal Medicine)
(ii) Kaumarabhrtya or Balachikitsa (Paediatrics)
(iii) Bhutavidya or Grahachikitsa (Psychiatry)
(iv) Salakyatantra (Otto-Rhino-Laryngology & Opthalmology)
(v) Salyatantra (Surgery)
(vi) Visatantra (Toxicology)
(vii) Rasayanatantra (Geriatrics)
(viii) Vajikaranatantra (The therapy for male sterility, impotency and the promotion of virility)

© 2007, Ayurvastra Concepts. Designed & Hosted By : Web Circuit India